Alen Corp Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter

BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter

The Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier for smoke and pet odors includes Alen's HEPA-OdorCell Filter. The BreatheSmart uses Alen's SmartSensor Technology to detect airborne allergens and pollutants, automatically adjusting airflow to protect you while saving energy and extending filter life. The BreatheSmart is both powerful and quiet, providing up to 1100 square feet of coverage with Alen's WhisperMax Technology, a specially designed fan and air chamber that maximizes clean air delivery while maintaining a peaceful environment. The Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier's easy to replace HEPA-OdorCell Filter combines several layers of filter technology to purify and freshen the air in your home. Polluted air first passes through Alen's washable Pre-Filter to capture large particles, extending the life of the filter. In the second layer, air moves through a unique, electrostatically charged HEPA type material that attracts and captures up to 99% of dust, pollen, pet dander, mold spores and other airborne pollutants. In the final layer, clean air passes through Alen's patented MCP odor technology, destroying heavy smoke and pet odors at a molecular level. The BreatheSmart's ozone-safe Ionizer complements the HEPA type filter by charging particles in the air, causing them to stick together and become more easily captured. We recommend regular filter replacements to extend the life of your air purifier and maximize performance. Replace your filter every 6-12 months for severe concerns or when running the air purifier 24/7. Replace your filter every 12-18 months for light concerns or when running the air purifier only as needed. The Alen BreatheSmart's Filter Life Timer indicates when it is time to replace the filter based on the operating fan speed and duration of use. The optimal filter replacement frequency may vary based on your environment and health concerns. The Alen BreatheSmart includes a Lifetime Limited Warranty and Allergy Relief Guarantee. We encourage you to experience the benefits of allergy relief for 60 days, risk free. If for any reason you are not satisfied with your purchase, we will refund your money and even pay to ship it back.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
83 out of 8598%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Review 1 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes this is agood prodiuct

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Haytham 69
from Ohio
Gender:Male
I'm so happey my living room it's smoke free ilovet me and wife
Pros: Great Warranty
Cons: Unattractive Design
Concerns: Secondhand Smoke
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does a great job!!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Friskey
from Chateaugay, NY
Gender:Male
I'm totally satisfied with the Alen Breath Smart Air Purifier. It has helped my allergies and asthma. It is a little expensive but does the job it claims.
Pros: Good Performance
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!`

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Guntersfour
from Oregon
Gender:Female
Have only had these running for a couple hours and I can already breathe easier. I bought 3 breathe smart purifiers to cover my 2200 sf house (I have asthma) and I can already tell a difference in the air. All were red when we turned them on (!) and are slowly moving to better air. But, I can breathe better already. Can't believe it!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Attractive Design
Concerns: Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely Helping With Allergens

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Happy Camper
from Atascadero, CA
Gender:Female
I have this unit in my bedroom. I run it all night on the second fan speed. The white sound is actually soothing, and my nose and sinuses aren't anywhere near as swollen and stuffed as they used to be. I can breathe all night through my nose, so I'm not drooling all over my pillow. All in all, I'm feeling a lot better and sleeping a lot better. I like the unit itself. The only problem I see (hence the 4 star rating rather than a 5) is that the pre-filter comes off easily when cats stick their paws into the side intake vents and then it's hard to get it to stick on again since it gets full of cat fur that I can't get off. Overall, a relatively minor problem.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Attractive Design, easy to change filter.
Cons: pre-filter doesn't stay put all that well.
Concerns: Allergies, Pets
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Air Purifiers!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
AmyC1223
from Wyandotte, Michigan
Gender:Female
i bought the Alen BreatheSmart 2-pack about 2 months ago. Wow what a difference they have made! After much research, I decided Alen was the way to go. I purchased them for use mainly during the winter months when my house has to be closed up tight. It is an older home and prone to dust. My mother and I both suffer from sever indoor allergies to mold and dust and also have asthma. Within 3 days of setting them up and letting them run, I was already noticing a difference. Not only was I sleeping through the night, but I was no longer waking up congested. It has been years since I woke up and felt completely rested, but now I am. While I do still take medicine for my conditions, my usage of them has significantly dropped. My mother has not had to use her nebulizer machine for a breathing treatment since we have had the air purifiers running.The amount of dust throughout the house has diminished and we may add another in time our entire house can be covered.
I chose this model for the ease of use and large coverage area. The controls are simple to use and mom fully understood how to operate the units with ease. They are also very lightweight which makes them easy to move to different rooms in the house if the need arises. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this product. It was even packed very well for shipment and arrived quickly on schedule. To summarize, it is well worth the price and I highly recommend it!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Breathe of Fresh Air

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dodger59
from Reston, VA
Gender:Male
After just one hour of operation, the air was as fresh and clean as in Montana. Wonderful!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet
Concerns: Allergies, Secondhand Smoke, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

removes the allergens in the room

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sara50
from San Antonio, texas
Gender:Female
The Alen Breathe Smart has allowed me to be in the house with out sneezing and coughing from the dust and pet dander. Works great and I do not have to worry about it. I just turn it on and it does an excellent job.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Attractive Design
Cons: not loud but slight noise
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EFFECTIVE!!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
gcriii1118
from Bakersfield, CA
Gender:Female
It's pricey "but" it works!!! It's worth every penny!!! If you're planning to buy, settle for this one. You can't go wrong on it!!!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Cons: i don't see any downside.
Concerns: Allergies, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm chemical sensitive, & it works for me!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Katherine
from Orlando, fl,
Gender:Female
I bought this purifier after returning a purifier from different company,because I am chemically sensitive and the off gassing bothered me. So, My husband called Arlen and questioned them extensively about this purifier. They customer service rep knew his stuff, and knew about chemical sensitivity. He suggested this purifier without a carbon filter. He told my husband that the material is high grade plastic and does not off gas. Well, we bought it. And it is awesome. There was a very faint smell for about one week. (My husband didnt smell a thing, but I have a super sensitive nose and smell everything) Now, it smells like perfect pure air, and I love it. I am thrilled. I am the pickiest and fussiest consumer, and I give it an A+!
Pros: Quiet, auto
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, chemical sensitivity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathe right purifier

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
We ordered two of the air purifiers and love them. The units are quiet enough and modern looking. I would recommend them to others.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works and it Works Well!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
KellyDeen
from Seattle
Gender:Female
Not my first air filter, but will be my last. It really works. Air smells clean. Dust is down. Food odors clear quickly.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 Months Use Update Review

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
User submitted photo
Customer avatar
Valerie in California
from Los Angeles metro area
Gender:Female
In my original customer review of my BreatheSmart air purifiers I said I would post an update review after we had lived with our purifiers for a while and would share our experiences (good or bad). We've had our BreatheSmarts with the Silver filter (2 at home and 2 in the office) in use for 6 months now. Although I am still taking all of my other allergy and asthma medicines. I have only had to use a rescue inhaler twice since their arrival. On both occasions the electricity had gone out while I was on a trip and even though it had come back on while I was gone, certain appliances and electronics didn't turn themselves back on one of which was my BreatheSmarts. It happened once with the two units at my home and once with the two units at my office, both around the holidays. According to my neighbor the electricity at home had gone out briefly about 7 days before my return. Of course when I got home i couldn't understand why my breathing was so bad to the point of needing a rescue inhaler. After using my inhaler, I checked the BreatheSmart units only to find that both of them were completely off. Once the units were back on I've not needed to use my inhaler at all at home. In mid-January I left for a trade show and everyone was out of the office for about 5 days. When I got back to the office I had my first asthma attack in office since the BreatheSmarts arrived. The day I left for the show, the electric company was working on something behind our building. As I was leaving for the show they informed everyone in our building that the power was going to be down for about 20 mins. I didn't give it a thought since we were all going to be at the trade show anyway. What I forgot was that the BreatheSmarts would be off the full 5 days until we came back from the trade show. Once we came back from the trade show the office didn't smell as fresh as usual and I immediately had an asthma attack which surprised me since I've not needed my inhaler since the BreatheSmart units came into the office 6 months ago. Then I remembered since the electricity was turned off briefly that the BreatheSmart units were still off. I immediately turned them back on and have not had required a rescue inhaler even once since they've been back on. This confirmed the results I had when they first arrived. They are definitely making a big difference in our air quality both at home and in the office. By the way, I've attached a picture of what we vacuum off of our pre-filters every other week. And this is just the big gunk we can see. I can only imagine what the inside of the main filter looks like with all of the smaller stuff we can't see.
P.S. - The units that are in my home work and make a difference even though we have the windows and skylights open on warm days since we don't have air conditioning. This January we had wild fires in the Los Angeles metro area which put a lot of ash in the air to the point it rains down like little tiny snow flakes covering cars and coming in open windows, etc. In the past when this has occurred, the ash residue inside the house would be so thick on our counters and other hard surfaces that you could write your name in it. This January we had the first wild fire in the Los Angeles metro area since we've had our BreatheSmart purifiers in place. And as usual once again ash was in the air and for a couple of days gently raining down on everything like usual. And since the weather in L.A. for those days was in the mid 80's of course we had to leave the windows and skylights open. This year however, each day when we'd return home from work we didn't find the usual ash build up on the counters and hard surfaces like in the past. And this time even though ash was in the air and the windows where open I didn't suffer my usual asthma attacks. Don't get me wrong, these machines aren't "vacuum cleaners" that are going to clean all the dust off of the surfaces in your house, but they will clean the gunk out of your air to help you breathe better.
V:)
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design, auto sensor, ionizer
Cons: no auto on after a power outage
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Odor, Dust, ash from wild fires
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff
from Sylvania Ohio
Gender:Male
I have been very pleased with the capibility that the my Alen air purifier has. I hav a ver large two story great room. I was concerned that it wouldn't have the capability. It has delivered!! My asthma from dog dander is much improved!! Thank you Alan air
Pros: Quiet
Concerns: Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems to work great

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Have had this for a month or so. Before I got it, i was coughing a lot and i thought it was the air quality. Within 3 days of having this unit, my coughing is almost non-existent. This is my experience. Try it and sees
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Breathing Easier

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jimmy V
from Cleveland - Shanghai
Gender:Male
I noticed and immediate increase in air quality using 3 Breathe Smarts in my home. Love it.
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: pollution
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So Disappointed

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Patty
from Modesto, CA
Gender:Female
I received this unit shortly after Thanksgiving and I wanted to give it a fair shot. After reading all the reviews about how great it was in reducing house dust, I was so excited. My house gets extremely dusty and I was hoping this would help. Sorry to say there is no improvement at all in the amount of dust in my home. It also added an additional $32 to my electric bill, and I find it to be very noisy. This was a very pricey unit, and I feel like I wasted my money. Based on my experience, I definitely would not recommend this product.
Cons: Loud, Poor Performance, increased my electric bill
Concerns: Dust
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Alen CorpBy AlenCustomer CareJanuary 21, 2014
Patty,

Thank you for your feedback. Air purifiers all rely on air movement, and passing your air through the filter as much as possible. As the dirty air is pulled toward the unit, airborne particles can encounter obstacles like tables, electronics, furniture, etc. If they reach these before the unit, they may "stick" to the surface and give the effect that the unit is not collecting these particles. This is true of all air purifiers.

We recommend looking at your Pre-Filter (the black, Velcro cover on the front of your filter) after about one month of continuous use. This Pre-Filter is designed to capture large particles, like dust. If your Pre-Filter appears to be dirty, it is a good visual indication of what the unit has been removing from the air. Cleaning this Pre-Filter about once a month will help keep the air purifier performing at its peak.

The Alen BreatheSmart is EnergyStar Certified and exact energy cost can vary per area. We estimate that when on its highest speed, running 24 hours a day and an average energy cost of $0.15 per kWh (Kilowat Per Hour) it would cost $0.38 a day to run.

If there are additional questions, our friendly customer care team is only a call away at 1-800-630-2396 and press 1 to reach them.

Thanks so much,
Alen
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

set it and forget it

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
adam715
from Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Once I saw the care in the way it was packaged.....I knew what I was getting. It starts and ends with the first impression.....and it has impressed. Love that I can turn the lights off at night....a simple yet hard to come by feature in other similar products. My son and I have many allergies and we love animals. I just couldn't in good conscience get a dog knowing how hard it would be on us. Then I saw this filter....it works! And now we have a dog with absolutely zero issues! I always keep it in automatic mode and it does the rest. The efficiency combined with the warranty make this a no brainer to get. You wont be sorry!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference this purifier makes!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Annieb
from Clearwater, FL
Gender:Female
I searched extensively for a good purifier, read the reviews, and finally decided to splurge on the Breath Smart, and it has made such a difference in our home's air quality. I have two dogs and we used to walk in after work or after a few days away and all we smelled was animals. Not anymore, thanks to this purifier. It has a slight hum, but we forget it's even running. It has also helped with dust particles.
I have another purifier in the bedroom which works well, but I'm thinking of purchasing another Alen purifier for the bedroom and moving my existing too-loud purifier upstairs.
And...the customer service for Alen is phenomenal. I had a question or two, had to call the company, and they were so helpful and considerate. I am very, very impressed. They stand by their products 100 percent!
More important, I can breath more clearly and have less headaches!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Purifying Machine

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
avega
from Austin TX
Gender:Male
Having the BreatheSmart has been a great improvement in our air quality. We just moved to another house and we needed a bigger unit for a larger living room. So far, we love every single feature of the BS, specially the SmartSensor technology that allow us to put the air purifier in 'auto mode' and forget about everything else. What else can I say? I think is definitely the Ultimate Purifying Machine!
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BreatheSmart Air Purifier w/ HEPA-OdorCell Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad to have the Breathe Right model for Cedar pollen season

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
JohnB
from Austin, Texas
Gender:Male
We have one of those houses that gathers dust like a magnet. Dust one day and it is back the next. Purchased 2 of the Breathe Right models and have had them on automatic setting for over 4 weeks now. We still have some dust, but the amount has been reduced considerably. Hoping that with continued use that our dust problem will be eliminated.
The cedar pollen readings are the highest in 20 years but the air in the house smells fresh. The two of us living here noticed very quickly that we are sneezing less, breathing easier (especially at night), and are not experiencing the annual watery eyes that come with the pollen this time of year.
Very happy with our purchase and look forward to many years of cleaner air.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty
Concerns: Allergies, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>