Alen Corp Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack

Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack

10-Pack of Alen HEPA-Silver FiltersDesigned for the Alen T500, the HEPA-Silver Filter combines four layers of filter technology to purify and freshen the air in your home while protecting the filter against bacteria and microbes. Polluted air first passes through Alen's washable Pre-Filter to capture large particles, extending the life of the filter. In the second layer, air moves through a unique, electrostatically charged HEPA type material that attracts and captures dust, poll
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Review 1 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic unit!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Chad1129
from Bee Cave, Texas
Gender:Male
Very powerful air flow for a unit that takes up very little space. Absolutely silent on level one. Easy to tell the air quality difference in the large bedroom where we were using it. A bonus that the green display lights automatically go off so the unit doesn't light up the bedroom at night. Nice attention to details. Well done, Alen.
Pros: Good Performance, Great Warranty, Quiet
Concerns: Allergies
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The future of air purification is here!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Cactuslady
from West Virginia
Gender:Female
The T500 is the best purifier Alen has made yet. I own several different units in various sizes. All have lived up to the Alien reputation for quick large room purification, ease in changing of filters & a great lifetime warranty. My favorite is now the T500! This unit has an easy to use control panel, cleans the air quickly no matter where its used (within 30 minutes) and extremely portable. I have used it for cooking odors in the kitchen, occational pet problems thru out the house & the musty basement. It is small enough that I look forward to taking it with us on trips. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a unit that is as powerful as most larger ones yet will fit almost anywhere and do a quick & efficient job.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design, powerful & portable
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
jeffie
from Nashua, NH
Gender:Male
This is a super quiet, fully functional machine.
It takes little time to clear the air in the bedroom and is wicked quiet during the night so I can sleep.
The filters can be vacuumed out regularly and will last quite a while.
The replacement filters are easy to install and everything about this air purifier works great.
It combats mold, pet dander, dust, etc...A great product.
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet, Attractive Design, quick to clear the air
Cons: have not found any
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Dust, mold growth/spores
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, simple, powerful air purifier!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Longhornfan92
from Cedar Park,, Texas
Gender:Male
I'm quite pleased with my recent acquisition of the AlenCorp T500. It was an incredible simple set up, and immediately had a positive impact on our living room - so much so that all three kids are now interested in having one in each of their rooms.
It's quiet, extremely powerful, and subtly fits well in our room's décor.
I highly recommend the T500.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best just got better!

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Bill
from Long Beach, CA
Gender:Male
When I set out to purchase my first air purifier I wouldn't settle for anything less than the best so I began researching both online and in stores. I compared prices, listened to sales pitches, read blogs, and even read reviews (similar to this) written by customers on all the major brands. The one name I found that stood out from all the others was Alen. After purchasing the T300 I thought I owned the best of the best. Then Alen came out with the T500 and the best just got better. Like the T300, not only did my allergies seemed to be nonexistent throughout my house and dust collected on my furnishings at a dramatically slower rate, but the T500 accomplished this with a much smaller and sleeker unit. The T500 also has a quieter and smoother sounding fan, an easier to read and simpler to use control panel, and, its single filter is not only more convenient, but has more collection area than what you get with the two filters together in the T300. Lastly, I didn't think the T500 could get any better until I discovered the lighted control panel automatically goes dark after a few seconds. The only problem with this is the T500 is so quiet, once the lighted panel goes off you'll wonder if your unit is still running! Thank you Alen for a wonderful product that can only be beat by you!
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Bill
Long Beach, CA
Re: Ions
Posted December 17, 2013
Hi Anonymous!
Of course I am not by any means an expert, but according to medical and scientific studies - which by the way are available for public reading - there is still no conclusive evidence relating ions with ill health, but there is towards their positive benefits. I truly don't know if having the ions turned on in my T500 makes any difference in the air in my house, but I can tell you with all confidence that no other air purifier I've ever owned has been this quiet, kept my allergies and asthma under control, and, has noticeably cut down the level of dust that collects on my furnishings.
I hope this helps.
Bill
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Ions
Posted December 13, 2013
Bill,
When you did all your research did you stumble acrostic eh studies on ions and how bad it could be for your health. I am only asking because I heard so much about how bad it is so I am hesitant about the T500. Should I put the ion button on or off or should I even purchase to begin with.
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 6 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The little air purifier that could

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
bluealiza
from Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
The Alen T500 is an amazing upgrade on the Alen T300 (of which I own two). First of all, it's about half the size and very light. It looks deceptively like a desktop air purifier but it has the same power as the T300, still covering all of 500 sq. feet. It's also EXTREMELY unobtrusive compared to most air purifiers. It fits comfortably under my desk and within 20 minutes of plugging it in, the air was already better despite my extremely cluttered and dusty desk and office. Surprisingly, it performed better than my beloved Alen Smart that I originally was using in my office and was being wasted in my tiny office. I've since moved it to a larger room.
There are three speeds now and I was surprised but pleased that the lowest setting is completely and totally silent. The second speed creates a nice ambient white noise. I prefer this setting.The third setting IS a bit louder, similar to the whirring of a fan. But though the T500's third setting might take some getting used to, it's really comparable to the T300's fourth and highest setting so you'll likely not use it often if ever. Still, on noise reduction, T500 impresses by competing with much noisier air purifiers like the more expensive IQ Air. It also wipes the floor with those bulkier, square more expensive "quiet" Blue Air purifiers thanks to its compact size and power.
The old T300 required using poking at a hole with a paper clip to reset whenever you replaced the filter; now there's just a really cool one-touch button. The display on the T500 is very minimalist (four buttons plus a small screen with four icons) but much better than the T300. Instead of the colored lights to keep you posted on how your filter's doing and when it needs to be changed--which honestly, never really worked for me with the T300 because it could be clogged with dust and the reading would be inaccurate--there is now just an indicator that will say "Change Filter." Gone are also those two-pack filters as the T500 has one long filter that comes in the common Alen different types.
I've always been a big fan of the T300's portability. I developed severe indoor allergies and allergic asthma 8 years ago so I've taken it with me on vacations (domestic and international). I also like how much easier it was to move around the room. But the fact is the height still made it bulky to lug around. The small but new and improved powerful T500 is going to be my go-to travel companion and also my office air purifier. Bigger is definitely not better when it comes to this air purifier.
The Alen T500 is an amazing upgrade on the Alen T300 (of which I own two). First of all, it's about half the size and very light. It looks deceptively like a desktop air purifier but it has the same power as the T300, still covering all of 500 sq. feet. It's also EXTREMELY unobtrusive compared to most air purifiers. It fits comfortably under my desk and within 20 minutes of plugging it in, the air was already better despite my extremely cluttered and dusty desk and office. Surprisingly, it performed better than my beloved Alen Smart that I originally was using in my office and was being wasted in my tiny office. I've since moved it to a larger room.
There are three speeds now and I was surprised but pleased that the lowest setting is completely and totally silent. The second speed creates a nice ambient white noise. I prefer this setting.The third setting IS a bit louder, similar to the whirring of a fan. But though the T500's third setting might take some getting used to, it's really comparable to the T300's fourth and highest setting so you'll likely not use it often if ever. Still, on noise reduction, T500 impresses by competing with much noisier air purifiers like the more expensive IQ Air. It also wipes the floor with those bulkier, square more expensive "quiet" Blue Air purifiers thanks to its compact size and power.
The old T300 required using poking at a hole with a paper clip to reset whenever you replaced the filter; now there's just a really cool one-touch button. The display on the T500 is very minimalist (four buttons plus a small screen with four icons) but much better than the T300. Instead of the colored lights to keep you posted on how your filter's doing and when it needs to be changed--which honestly, never really worked for me with the T300 because it could be clogged with dust and the reading would be inaccurate--there is now just an indicator that will say "Change Filter." Gone are also those two-pack filters as the T500 has one long filter that comes in the common Alen different types.
I've always been a big fan of the T300's portability. I developed severe indoor allergies and allergic asthma 8 years ago so I've taken it with me on vacations (domestic and international). I also like how much easier it was to move around the room. But the fact is the height still made it bulky to lug around. The small but new and improved powerful T500 is going to be my go-to travel companion and also my office air purifier. Bigger is definitely not better when it comes to this air purifier.
I own (2) IQ Air air purifiers, 1 Blue Air air purifier, and now (6) Alen air purifiers: 3 Alen BreatheSmart Touch, (2) T300s and the newest T500. I guess you can tell which company I prefer! I know plan on replacing my (2) T300s with 2 more T500s. Plus my fellow allergic family members are already jealous and want some T500s of their own! The lifetime warranty is a major plus as well.
Compared to the other air purifiers I own, only the T500 can be positioned in my home in a way that it blends into the background. And even if and when it doesn't, it looks sleek and stylish. My husband noted that the T500 is "simpler" and "they got rid of all the dumb things" from the T300.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Maha
Austin, TX
Alen T500; a Power/Tower
Posted November 6, 2013
First of all, I totally appreciate the dedication and the quality of the service and products offered by Alen Corporation: the entire company feels to me as having their heart in the right place. They mean to help, and they do help!
Thus when offered to purchase a smaller unit for my bedroom (I have an A350 in my livingroom), I didn't have to think about it; I just knew it would be good. Yet, Alen's creativity still surprised me... I am big on aesthetics; I like beauty: there stood this black tower, clearly designed to be as discrete as possible, yet most certainly elegant. I was also touched by the fact that it has no light that could wake up my pineal gland and disturb my sleep. The sound it makes is very even, again contributing to override any disturbing noise and to make for a good night sleep. As for the quality of the air, it is palpably better. It feels good, not as stuffy, like whatever parasites or mold that charged the air of that room were kissed good night and gently transitioned into peace.
I was blessed to speak to Todd, the technician who first spoke to me about purchasing a T500. One of the questions I had was admittedly very naive: is there any reason that I would have to keep the packaging? "Not unless you want to return the unit," Todd answered. The next morning, the recycle crew of the City of Austin picked up the box of my T500: I SO totally know that my Alen T500 is part of my household. And I am so grateful for the increased comfort and health that it affords. This is where "Alen" sounds as "ALL in!"
From a very happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for great results

PostedJuly 10, 2014
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Customer avatar
Clint
from MO
Gender:Male
We purchased this because we recently moved to a new state and allergies were a big problem. We have been running the Alen T500 for few weeks and we have noticed a huge difference. It's very lightweight super quiet. Highly recommend.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

quiet and seems effective

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
erb123
from IL
Gender:Female
Not sure it has been long enough to give a thorough review but so far this product has been great. It is very quiet and easy to use. Air smells and feels much cleaner and fresher. We purchased it with the silver HEPA filter to help remove mold, and my allergies have been much better.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Bacteria/Germs, Dust, mold
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good products.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Chuck
from Chaumont, NY
Gender:Male
One of the 500's is nosier than the other. The "breathe smart" really does the job---great product. The 500's are also, but wish the one was a little quieter.
Dust, especially "white dust" now non-existent.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Attractive Design
Cons: Loud
Concerns: Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
BJ
from Tempe, Arizona
Gender:Female
This product is very quiet and efficient. I has helped clear the air of dust and pollen this spring. I highly recommend.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet with small footprint

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Dustbunny62
from Indiana
Gender:Female
I purchased the T500 Tower 2pack about one month ago. One for the LR one for the BR. Both are quiet and take very little floor space. Efficacy is hard to evaluate for the layman. I was impressed by the amount of dusts on the filter in a short period of time.
I was disappointed that the timer wasn't more user friendly. I would have preferred setting times of the day when it runs rather than to manually turn on/off.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: timer
Concerns: Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dust >Pollen> Grass> Weeds> Dander from Pets> Allergys's !!!!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Pots
from Springfield Ma 01107
Gender:Male
I am allerigic to them all and especially in the wintertime when windows are closed. Have a $700.00 EcoQuest air purifier that never really did the job like it was supposed to do and now the company is out of business and someone else picked up the ball is running with it. Out $700.00 balloons. For the $224.00 I paid for my T500 model and I got my son one also I am much more satisified and even with the filters going for around $59.00 they last a long time. So you spen $100. a year in filters its still worth the price of breathing clean air. I am a happy customer and highy recommend the T500 and all Alen products.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design, 5*****stars on the t500, customer service 5*****, no problems at all
Cons: none
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Bacteria/Germs, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from NJ
Gender:Male
Easy to use and shipped fast! Less dust and no pet odor..great purchase for 1-bedroom apartment.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Bacteria/Germs, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Alen T500 is amazing!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
SMinCA
from Tustin, CA
Gender:Female
A few weeks ago I began using the the Alen T500 in the master bedroom. I have allergies and asthma that are often aggravated by cat fur from our two adorable felines. We have poor air circulation in this room, and we have to keep the door closed to prevent the cats from waking us up at night. Before using the T500, the air in this room was stuffy and smelled like dust. Now when we wake up the air smells fresh and clean, and I have been a lot less congested. I've also noticed significant improvement in my asthma symptoms. The T500 is compact and very quiet, and I'd highly recommend it to everyone.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Asthma, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The change in air quality in my house is amazing.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Fred83
from Orange, Vermont
Gender:Male
Every morning I would cough and sneeze for hours. I had a box of Kleenex in every room. I live in a big old farmhouse with a damp basement that generates mold. I also heat with two wood stoves. Within a day or two of setting up the BreatheSmart air purifier, the sneezing and coughing stopped.
The service and information that Alen provided when I was researching air purifiers was outstanding. It stood head and shoulders above what I was accustomed to getting.
I am delighted to have purchased this item.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Great Warranty
Concerns: Allergies, Secondhand Smoke, Bacteria/Germs, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

seems okay but watching carefully

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Gender:Male
seems the unit is making more noise on low speed--am checking it out.
Pros: User Friendly
Concerns: Allergies, Bacteria/Germs, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Alen CorpBy AlenCustomer CareMarch 7, 2014
We appreciate you reaching out to us. When your unit is running on low, it should be at its lowest noise level and will filter the least amount per air exchange. Your unit comes standard with a Limited Lifetime Warranty. If there is ever an issue with your Alen HEPA Air Purifier we will repair or replace it, as long as you are maintaining your air purifier.

Our Customer Relations Team is only a call away at 1-800-630-2396 and press 1 to reach them. They will help you complete a warranty request. Thank you for choosing Alen as your clean air provider and we look forward to assisting you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The T500 helps control my allergies

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Theo66
from Virginia, Il
Gender:Male
I have been fighting allergies for years and during my last doctor visit he mentioned getting an air purifier. After researching the web, I decided to go with the Alen T500. It was super easy to set up. The three speeds controls the air flow, plus the noise flow. High speed moves a lot of air, and the low speed can barely be detected.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Attractive Design
Cons: must purchase air filter to keep warranty
Concerns: Allergies
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 x a charm

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Chuck
Gender:Male
Thank you for providing me with an alternative solution to a former problem. I had purchased a T500 from you a while back and have been more than satisfied with it's performance. When the time came to purchase another unit for my guess room the solution was right there, a clear no brainer, just as before I am more than happy with the new unit. You will always have me as a satisfied customer.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Odor, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and built solid.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Banker350
from OKC, OK
Gender:Female
I really love my new office purifier! Quiet, easy to turn on or adjust and is making the air so much more healthy. I wish I had purchased it earlier.
Pros: Good Performance, User Friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alen T500 HEPA-Silver Replacement Filter 5-Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
JackieMom
from Sandy Hook, CT
Gender:Female
Love this filter as soon as I replace the old filter you can feel the difference right away!
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>